Kerala: Malappuram by-poll begins, early voters throng booths

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New Delhi [India], Apr. 12 (ANI): Over 13 lakh voters are expected to cast their vote in the by-poll to the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala, for which the polling began on Wednesday morning. A total of nine candidates are campaigning for the seat, which was left vacant post the demise of former Union Minister and Indian Union Muslim League leader E Ahamed. The main contenders for the position include the United Democratic Front (UDF)-led Muslim League leader P K Kunhalikutty, Left Democratic Front (LDF) candidate M B Faisal and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate N Sree Prakash. Malappuram constituency, which is a sitting seat of Muslim league in UDF, comprises over 1,100 polling booths, with a total strength of 13, 12, 693 voters. In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Ahamed established a thumping victory and won the seat by a margin of 1, 94,739 votes against CPI (M)'s P K Sainaba. This year's pre-polling phase saw intensive campaigning being carried out by the frontrunners of the by polls. (ANI)