Khandu government wins no-trust motion, Thongdok elected 11th Speaker

| Updated: Jul 20, 2016 21:44 IST

By Pradeep Kumar Naharlagun (Arunachal Pradesh), July 20 (ANI): The specially convened Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly session today witnessed the election of Deputy Speaker Tsering Norbu Thongdok as the 11th speaker. He succeeds Nabam Rebia. Thongduk's name was proposed by Bamang Felix and seconded by Pani Taram. Passang Dorjee Sona conducted the election and announced Thongdok as the lone candidate for the Speaker's post. He was then elected unanimously by a voice vote. Thondok had earlier named Sona, Felix, Taram and Japu Deru as panel of chairmen. Taking part in a discussion after the election, most of the legislators recalled their personal association with Thongdok, a technocrat-bureaucrat turned lawmaker, and congratulated him by describing him as a multifaceted personality with varied experiences. He will uphold the dignity of the 'Temple of Democracy' (termed by Tage Taki) in the state, they said with conviction. Wanki Lowang, however, questioned that the session should not be 9th session, as he had chaired the 8th session, whose status stands questioned with the Supreme Court reversing the clock to 15.12.12. Reciprocating the heart touching appreciation, Thongdok expressed his gratitude to the members for electing him to Speaker's post and reposing faith in him. "I will do my best to discharge my duties and assured that my foremost and honest efforts would be to protect the dignity and rights of the house. The office of the Speaker calls for impartiality and judicious judgements and I assure the house the trust reposed on me to be impartial and equal to all" he said and sought cooperation of all members. He also congratulated Chief Minister Pema Khandu on winning the vote of confidence the Govt. While congratulating the new Speaker, Khandu said that he would uphold the dignity with his vast experience. "Be impartial and give chance to all to raise the voice of the people on the floor of the house. We need your guidance too." Thongdok, born on March 12,1951 to late Chewang Dorjee in Jigaon under Rupa circle of West Kameng district, with be (Civil) and FII degrees served the state Govt and plunged into politics after retiring as PWD chief engineer and power secretary. He won from Kalaktang seat first in 2009 and again in 2014. He also served as power minister. Belonging to Sherdukpen community, Thongdok an excellent singer and sportsman, has travelled to many foreign countries. Earlier, Khandu, who was sworn-in as CM along with Deputy CM Chowna Mein by Governor Tathagata Roy on July 17 last, after moving the no-trust monition, said "Arunachal Pradesh is largest among eight North-East states, spread from Tawang to Longding and inhabited by over 100 tribes. All have to be taken in to confidence for all-round development of the state". While thanking all leaders, particularly Congress high command and former CM Nabam Tuki for their magnanimity in electing him as CM and supporting the motion, Khandu said, "I seek blessings of all members, particularly the Opposition BJP for accelerated development of the state. My Govt would function rising above partisan politics. He assured that all including ministers if do not function would face action," before the motion was passed by voice vote. Opposition Leader Tamiyo Taga on behalf of the BJP opposed the motion but while taking part in the discussion assured constructive opposition in state's larger interest. Many members, including former chief minister Nabam Tuki, Mein and Nabam Rebia also took part in the discussion and joined all to congratulate Thongdok and Kahndu. Later, Khandu told ANI that his cabinet would be formed within a week. AICC general secretary Dr C P Jsohi and his colleagues Mukul Wasnik (GS) and Dr Jaykumar (Secretary) besides senior officers led by Chief Secretary Shakuntala Gamlin and DGP N Nithyananadam were watching from the visitors' galleries. (ANI)