Representative Image
Representative Image

LS polls: BJP replaces sitting MP and Raman Singh's son in Chhattisgarh

ANI | Updated: Mar 24, 2019 21:22 IST

New Delhi [India], Mar 24 (ANI): BJP has replaced sitting MP and former Chhattisgarh chief minister Raman Singh's son, Abhishek Singh with Santosh Pandey from the Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha seat in Chhattisgarh.
The party on Sunday released a list of nine candidates for the states of Chhattisgarh, Telangana, Meghalaya and Maharashtra for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections.
Out of 11 seats, six are from Chhattisgarh, one each from Telangana, Meghalaya and Maharashtra.
So far the BJP has announced 306 candidates against 543 Parliamentary constituencies. The list was released by Central Election Committee Secretary and Union Minister Jagat Prakash Nadda. 
Six candidates who will be fielded in the different Parliamentary constituency in Chhattisgarh are Jyoti Nand Dubey (Korba), Arun Saw (Bilaspur), Santosh Pandey (Rajnandgaon), Vijay Baghel (Durg), Sunil Soni (Raipur), Chunnilal Sahu (Mahasamund).
In Chhattisgarh, Dubey replaces Dr Banshilal Mahto in Korba while Saw replaces sitting MP Lakhan Lal Sahu from Bilaspur. Six-time MP Ramesh Bains has been replaced by Soni from Raipur. 
After the announcement of six candidates who will contest from Chhattisgarh, Raman Singh said: "We will win all the 11 seats in the state. It is appreciable that the BJP has given a chance to all new faces. My supporters wanted me to contest from Rajnandgaon but the party has a policy to give tickets to new candidates. Santosh Pandey has done work with me and he is undoubtedly a deserving candidate."
All 11 Lok Sabha seats in Chattisgarh will go to polls in three phases on April 11, 18 and 23.
In Telangana, BJP has fielded Raghunanadan Rao from Medak. The 17 parliamentary constituencies in Telangana will go for polling in a single phase on April 11. 
Rikman G Momim will contest from Tura (ST) constituency in Meghalaya which will be contesting for 2 constituencies on April 11.
In Maharashtra, BJP has fielded Sunil Baburao Mendhe from Bhandara-Gondiya constituency. Maharashtra will have polling in all four phases, beginning April 11 and concluding on May 29. (ANI)