DMK president MK Stalin [File Photo/ANI]
DMK president MK Stalin [File Photo/ANI]

LS Polls: DMK announces constituencies allotted self, allies

ANI | Updated: Mar 15, 2019 16:04 IST

Chennai (Tamil Nadu) [India], March 15 (ANI): Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) chief M K Stalin on Friday announced the constituencies from where his party and its allies will contest for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.
Speaking to media, the DMK Chief said, "This alliance has come together on the basis of the ideology but not on money. This is a secular front."
"Our candidates' list will be out March 17," he added.
A total of 39 Lok Sabha seats are at stake in Tamil Nadu and one in Puducherry.
As per the released list, DMK will contest from 20 seats which include - Thoothukudi, Chennai (South), Chennai (Central), Chennai (North), Kanchipuram, Nilgiris, Pollachi being the major ones.
Rahul Gandhi led Congress will be contesting from Thiruvallur(SC), Krishnagiri, Arani, Karur, Tiruchirappalli, Sivaganga, Theni, Virudhunagar, Kanyakumari, and the union territory of
The Communist Party of India (CPI) has been given only two seats in Nagapattinam(SC) and Tiruppur, while the CPI(M) had been given Coimbatore and Madurai.
Notably, apart from Lok Sabha elections which are scheduled to take place on April 18, by-polls will also be held in 18 assembly seats simultaneously.
The Election Commission will announce the results on May 23. (ANI)