ECI (Representative Image)
ECI (Representative Image)

LS polls: EC announces holiday in Punjab on May 19

ANI | Updated: May 14, 2019 18:21 IST

(Chandigarh) [India], May 14 (ANI): The Election Commission of India (ECI), on Tuesday, announced a holiday on May 19, in view of the Parliamentary Constituency election in Punjab to facilitate voters to exercise their franchise to vote.
Chief Electoral Officer of Punjab, S Karuna Raju, said that the employees of the industrial establishment and commercial establishments were entitled to take a paid holiday on the polling day.
"As per the provisions of Section 135B of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, and instructions issued by the ECI, the employees of industrial establishments, commercial establishments, shops and establishments can have a paid holiday on the date of polling in Punjab on May 19," Raju told reporters here.
The Punjab Government also issued directions to ensure strict compliance of the guidelines of the Election Commission of India (ECI) concerning observance of the 'Dry Day' period on the polling day of the Parliamentary Constituency poll in the state.
"As per the guidelines of the ECI, the sale of liquor will be prohibited in the state of Punjab 48 hours prior to the polling day and ending with the hour fixed for conclusion of poll i.e. 6 pm on May 19.
"Similarly, the prohibition on the sale of liquor in 3 kilometres of adjoining areas of neighbouring states will also be ensured through concerned departments of those states. These steps are aimed to stop any clandestine movement of liquor from those areas," he added.
These directions have been issued to all Additional Chief Secretaries, Financial
Commissioners/Principal Secretaries, Administrative Secretaries, Director General of Police, Heads of Departments, Divisional Commissioners, Deputy Commissioners and Sub Divisional Magistrates.
Punjab will see polling for all 13 Lok Sabha seats on May 19 in the seventh and the final phase of the Lok Sabha elections. The counting of votes will begin on May 23. (ANI)