Reperesentative image
Reperesentative image

LS Polls: MP records over 69 pc voter turnout in last phase till 6 pm

ANI | Updated: May 19, 2019 19:35 IST

Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh) [India], May 19 (ANI): A voter turnout of 69.36 per cent was recorded till 6 pm, 2.5 per cent higher than 2014, in eight Lok Sabha seats of Madhya Pradesh on Sunday, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has said.
According to the EC's voter turnout app, Dewas recorded highest 73.88 per cent voting, Mandsour 73.01 per cent, Ratlam 69.18 per cent, Ujjain 67.53 per cent, Dhar 67.18 per cent, Indore 64.35 per cent, Khargone 70.69 per cent, and Khandwa stood at 70.57 per cent till the end of the voting.
"Total eight number of parliamentary constituencies went to poll absolutely incident free. A total of 1.49 crores voters including 484 third gender was to vote in the elections," Deputy Election Commission Sudeep Jain told the media in New Delhi.
A total of 82 candidates including six female candidates were in the fray in this phase, the EC said.
A total of 1057 out of total 18411 polling stations managed by women only, Jain informed.
From Dewas, BJP has fielded Mahendra Singh Solanki, while Congress has put up Prahlad Singh Tipaniya. In Ujjain, Anil Firojiya is in the fray on BJP ticket and Babulal Malviya from the Congress.
In Mansour Lok Sabha seat, the BJP has reposed faith in Sudheer Gupta, while Congress has fielded former MP Meenakshi Natarajan.
In Ratlam, Guman Singh Damor is in the fray on BJP ticket, while Kantilal Bhuria is trying his luck as a Congress candidate.
In Dhar seat, BJP has fielded Chattarsingh Darbar, who is pitted against Girwal Dinesh of the Congress.
The prestigious seat of Indore, which was represented by Sumitra Mahajan for many terms, is witnessing a fight between BJP's Shankar Lalwani and Pankaj Sanghvi of the Congress party.
In Khargone Lok Sabha seat, Gajendra Umrao Singh Patel of BJP is facing Govind Mujalda of the Congress party.
In Khandwa, BJP has fielded Nandkumar Singh Chouhan, who is facing former Union Minister and Congress candidate Arun Yadav.
The counting of votes for 542 Lok Sabha seats in seven phases, beginning April 11 and ending on May 19, will take place on May 23. (ANI)