Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar (File Pic)
Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar (File Pic)

LS polls: NCP announces first list of candidates, Supriya Sule to contest from Baramati

ANI | Updated: Mar 14, 2019 21:06 IST

Mumbai (Maharashtra) [India], Mar 14 (ANI): The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on Thursday announced its first list of candidates which includes 12 candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls.
The party has fielded NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule from Baramati constituency. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Supriya won from Baramati seat which used to be Sharad Pawar’s bastion.
The other candidates including Sanjay Dina Patil from Mumbai North East,  Anand Paranjpe from Thane,   Rajendra Shingane from Buldhana,  Sunil Tatkare  from Raigad, Udayanraje Bhosale from Satara, Dhananjay Mahadik from Kolhapur, Gulabarao Deokar from Jalgaon, Rajesh Vitekar  from Parbhani, and Babaji Balaram Patil from Kalyan parliamentary seat.
Mohammad Faizal is the NCP candidate for Lakshadeep constituency.
NCP has extended support to Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatna chief Raju Shetti who is contesting from Hatkanangale. He won from the seat in the last election.
Pawar had announced that he will not contest the ensuing general elections. The party is contesting the polls in alliance with the Congress in Maharashtra where 48 LokSabha seats are at stake.
Election Commission of India had announced the schedule for the 17th Lok Sabha election, which will be held in seven phases beginning April 11. The final phase of voting will take place on May 19 and the counting of votes will be done on May 23. (ANI)