Maharashtra civic polls: BJP's victory shows people's faith in PM Modi, says Fadnavis

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Mumbai (Maharashtra) [India], Feb. 23 (ANI): As the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged victorious by securing 470 seats in the Maharashtra civic polls, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis on Thursday termed it as a 'huge victory' for the party and stated that the result reflected people's faith in Prime Minister Narendra Modi. "It's a big victory for us. We accept it with huge responsibility. I have been reiterating from beginning that both rural and urban Maharashtra has supported demonetization and also the fact that they have faith in Prime Minister Modi," Fadnavis said. Responding to the decision taken by BJP leader Pankaja Munde to resign after the party lost eight out of 10 seats in Parli constituency, Fadavis said, "In election it happens that we lose and win." Fadnavis further informed that the BJP is winning in Nagpur, Nasik, Solapur, Pimpri Chinchwad, and more than 10 other Zila Parishads. The BJP has emerged victorious at all the other eight municipal corporations barring Mumbai and Thane Municipal Corporations that went to polls this week. BJP has also emerged as a clear choice in nine out of the 25 Zilla Parishads. In Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) polls, the ruling Shiv Sena has registered victory by securing 84 seats out of total 227 seats. The BJP has gained the second position bagging 81 seats. Congress is at third position winning 31 seats, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) nine seats, AIMIM three seats and Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) seven seats. In Thane Municipal Corporation, the Shiv Sena has won 58 while NCP has won 33 seats out of 131 wards. The BJP has won 21 seats while AIMIM has opened its account in Thane by winning two seats. In Ulhasnagar Municipal Corporation, the BJP is leading on 32 seats while the Shiv Sena is leading on 25 seats out of total 78 seats. In Zilla Parishad polls, The BJP seems to be emerging as a clear winner in nine out of 25 Zilla Paarishads. These districts include Jalgaon, Latur, Jalna, Chandrapur, Wardha, Aurangabad, Buldhana, Sangli and Gadchiroli. NCP seems to be gaining second position as it is leading at seven Zilla Parishads, namely Beed, Parbhani, Osmanbad, Solapur, Satara, Hingoli and Pune. Congress is leading in five Zilla Parishads while Shiv Sena is leading in four Zilla Parishads. (ANI)