MCD Polls: Swaraj India has achieved 'ethical victory', says Yogendra Yadav

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New Delhi [India], Apr 26 (ANI): Swaraj India's Yogendra Yadav has already expressed his indifference to the MCD Election 2017 result saying it doesn't matter, as the party has achieved an 'ethical' and political victory in this election. Swaraj India, led by activist Yogendra Yadav and Prashant Bhushan, made its electoral debut with the MCD polls. Both Yadav and Bhushan were a part of Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP. "If you talk about Swaraj India, I think this Election was only the first step for Swaraj India. We can say that we have built a great foundation. We have achieved an ethical and political victory in this election. The upcoming results are not my concern now," Yadav told ANI. Earlier on Saturday Yogendra Yadav wrote an open letter to AAP Supremo Kejriwal and challenged him to win at least 50 percent seats in the MCD polls to remain eligible for governing Delhi. Yadav told Kejriwal that "you have converted your popularity into a sort of referendum in MCD elections. Your party is asking votes in your name and even AAP's name is missing from the election hoardings". "AAP's internal survey says that your party is winning 218 seats in the MCD polls. I have one offer: if you get majority (137 seats) in all the three MCDs then I will concede that people of Delhi don't consider you as a cheat," wrote Yadav. The letter adds: "If you lose within two years of winning 67 assembly seats out of 70, then it is the demand of the morality that you resign from the post of chief minister and your government should again seek the confidence of Delhi's voters on the principle of 'recall', which you mentioned two years back at Ramlila Maidan". Former Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leaders Prashant Bhushan and Yogendra Yadav on 2nd October announced the formation of a new political party called Swaraj India. In April last year, the AAP expelled senior leaders Bhushan and Yadav for allegedly indulging in anti-party activities. The duo co-founded then Swaraj Abhiyan, a socio-political body, to 'take forward the anti-corruption movement.' Meanwhile, counting of votes will take place today for Delhi's three municipal corporations - North, East and South - which went to polls on Sunday. The counting will begin at 8 am at all 35 counting centers. A total of over 2500 candidates are in the fray whose political fate will be known today. The polling saw a voter turnout of 53.58 per cent that was marginally higher than 2012 figure of 53.43. In 2012, BJP had won 59 seats in North Delhi, 44 in South Delhi and 35 seats in East Delhi. Congress had managed to win 77 seats while BSP 15 seats in three civic bodies. (ANI)