representative image
representative image

MP assembly poll: 33.56% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm

ANI | Updated: Nov 28, 2018 14:27 IST

Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh) [India], Nov 28 (ANI): Voter turnout of 33.56 per cent was recoded till 1 pm in the ongoing Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections on Wednesday.
On the one hand, district wise highest voter turnout was recorded in Chhindwara (45 per cent) followed by Ashoknagar (42 per cent), Balaghat (41 per cent) and Burhanpur (40 per cent), according to the Election Commission of India. On the other hand, Dindori recorded the lowest voter turnout (20 per cent).
Voting began at 8 am in the state and will conclude at 5 pm. However, the timings for polling in Baihar, Lanji and Parswada assembly constituencies of Balaghat district have been set from 7 am to 3 pm.
Around 5 crore voters are eligible to decide the fate of 2,899 candidates contesting for 230 Madhya Pradesh Assembly constituencies.
Elaborate security arrangements have been made in order to ensure free, fair and peaceful polls. Around 1.8 lakh security personnel have been deployed to maintain law and order in the region.
The result of the Assembly polls will be declared on December 11. (ANI)