No-fly list: Unruly fliers can be banned upto 2 years

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New Delhi [India], May 5 (ANI): The Centre on Friday announced new rules for a 'No-fly list' for unruly passengers which will include suspension for offences. This is for the first time in the history of civil aviation that a no-fly list is being proposed to address the issues pertaining to civil aviation safety. According to the Aviation Ministry, the offences have been categorized in three levels - Level one constitutes disruptive behaviour like physical gestures. Level two will include physically abusive behavior like pushing, kicking, and sexual harassment. Level three will include murderous assault or life threatening behavior and damage to the aircraft operating systems. The punishment for unruly behavior will be into three levels - first level is three months, second level for six months, and third level for two years or more without any limit. "If any incident will happen, then, the Airline can immediately ban the passenger. After which the process will be completed in the next ten days," Minister of state of civil aviation Jayant Sinha said. The draft was made public by Aviation Minister Ashok G. Raju and his Deputy Jayant Sinha. The draft will give about a month for the public to comment. The aviation ministry will then take some time to study them and come out with the final CAR. As per the IATA, in 2015, there were 10,854 reported cases of unruly behaviour by the passengers across airlines worldwide, which translate into one incident for every 1,205 flights. The no-fly list has been amended by Air India from the day Shiv Sena MP Ravindra Gaikwad hit 62-year-old staffer R. Sukumar with his slipper. (ANI)