Congress leader Tariq Anwar talking to ANI in New Delhi on Sunday. Photo/ANI
Congress leader Tariq Anwar talking to ANI in New Delhi on Sunday. Photo/ANI

Not leaving Katihar at all, says Congress leader Tariq Anwar

ANI | Updated: Mar 17, 2019 20:31 IST

New Delhi [India], Mar 17 (ANI): Congress leader Tariq Anwar on Sunday rejected the reports that he has agreed to contest from a seat other than Katihar in Bihar.
“If there was any presence of NCP in Bihar, it was thanks to me. I have been contesting from Katihar since 1977. I am emotionally connected to that place. My relations with the people of the area are personal and not related to any party. There is no truth to the reports that I am willing to leave Katihar,” he said.
He also asserted that the "grand alliance" in Bihar won’t break.
“The alliance won’t break. Both the parties need the alliance. It is necessary to be in an alliance to defeat the BJP and I believe we have adequate time,” he told ANI.
However, he conceded that there might be some tension in the grand alliance.
“There might be some tension. Every party wants to get a maximum share but ultimately what is factored in is who the winning candidate is,” he said.
Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) general secretary DP Tripathi on Sunday said that Katihar Lok Sabha seat in Bihar was not the personal property of Tariq Anwar, the leader who recently defected from the NCP to join the Congress.
“We had one seat in Katihar and that is all we are asking for. Soon, we will announce our candidate from Katihar. It is our seat. So what if Tariq Anwar has joined the Congress? It is not his personal property. Katihar was our seat. Congress has to decide,” Tripathi said.
Tariq Anwar quit NCP and joined the Congress last year in September. He also resigned from his Lok Sabha seat. He was elected MP from Katihar for five terms.
In 1999, Anwar had revolted against Congress president Sonia Gandhi along with leaders like Sharad Pawar and PA Sangma. Anwar was a Rajya Sabha member from 2004-14 from Maharashtra.
In Bihar, there have been reports of fissures in the grand alliance. Lalu Prasad Yadav led RJD is not ready to concede more than 8 seats to the Congress party, though it is asking for not less than 11 seats.
On March 10, Election Commission of India announced that the ensuing General Elections will be conducted in seven phases in Bihar from April 11 to May 19. The results will be announced on May 23. (ANI)