NPP looks forward to Manipur Governor's decision regarding govt. formation

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Imphal (Manipur) [India], Mar. 14 (ANI): Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Himanta Biswa Sarma on Tuesday put the ball in Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla's court regarding government formation in the state. "We are waiting for the formal notification from the Election Commission (about the names of winning candidates). As soon as it comes, the Governor will start the process," said Sarma. Meanwhile, the National People's Party (NPP) leader Conrad Sangma stated that the Governor should decide on government formation at the earliest. "All documents, letters of support and clarification has been given to the Governor. We are waiting for the Governor to take a call and make her decision.Let's see what happens," said Sangma. Assuring that they have a clear majority to form the next government in the state, Sangma earlier today said any rumours or assertions regarding the NPP joining hands with the Congress are totally baseless. "It will be appropriate that the honourable Chief Minister graciously resigns and allows the new government to be formed so that the ceremony can take place. It's just a matter of time. We are waiting. I am quite surprised that a senior leader like the honourable Chief Minister is waiting for so long. We have the majority. We will be forming the government," he added. Earlier on Sunday, Sangma declared his party's support to the BJP to form the next government in the state. In Manipur, the BJP legislature party has unanimously elected N. Biren Singh as it leader. He was elected at a legislature party meeting in Imphal yesterday in the presence of central observers - Piyush Goyal and Vinay Sahasrabuddhe. Outgoing Chief Minister O. Ibobi Singh resigned yesterday after Governor Najma Heptullah said she cannot start the process of government formation in the state till he quits. The Congress had won 28 seats in Manipur, followed by the BJP 21. The NPP and the NPF have won four seats each, while the LJP and the Trinamool Congress have bagged one seat each. (ANI)