Opposition adamant on no EVMs, EC assures scrutiny

| Updated: Apr 11, 2017 02:38 IST

New Delhi [India], Apr. 10 (ANI): Citing examples of the other countries like Japan, Germany whose technology is far more advanced than India, the Congress today emphasised on using ballot paper scrutiny instead of using electronic system while stating that we have faith in the Election Commission of India (ECI), but not on the Electronic Voting Machines (EVM). "We have all referred to the global best practices where overwhelming majority of democracies in the world are not using electronic voting system. The country from where the chip is coming, Japan is itself not using the EVMs. There were only eight countries in Europe which opted for electronic machines and six have fallen back including Germany where the Supreme Court has come out with the strong indictment," Congress leader Anand Sharma said. Accusing the Central Government of tampering with the EVMs, Sharma said this government has refused to give the money for verifiable paper trail that raises a fundamental question about the intent of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government. Resonating similar views, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Majeed Memom said all leaders of the opposition party leaders are unanimously addressing the commission with regard to the lack of faith in EVM functioning. "The EC has heard each political party and the grievances were unanimous. Now, the Election Commission has assured us before winding up that all party meeting will be convened soon and they will seriously examine our grievances against the electronic system," Memom told ANI. In the meeting with Election Commission today, a team of top opposition leaders put forward their demand before the ECI of using ballot papers instead of EVMs in the upcoming elections in view of the alleged tampering. Among those present at today's strategy meeting held at Leader of Opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad's chamber in Parliament included Congress leaders Ahmed Patel, Anand Sharma, Kapil Sibal and Vivek Tankha, besides Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)) leader Ali Anwar Ansari, Trinamool Congress leader Sukhendu Sekhar Roy, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) leader Satish Misra and Samajwadi Party leader Neeraj Shekhar. NCP leader Majeed Memon, Communist Party of India leader D. Raja and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader J.P. Narain Yadav were also present during the meeting and all strongly raised the issue with the ECI. (ANI)