Palanisamy takes oath as new Tamil Nadu CM

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Chennai (Tamil Nadu) [India], Feb. 16 (ANI): Edappadi K. Palanisamy on Thursday took oath as Tamil Nadu's 13th Chief Minister. A total of 31 other All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) MLAs were also sworn in. Tamil Nadu Governor C. Vidyasagar Rao requested the Chief Minister to seek the vote of confidence in the assembly within 15 days. The decision to this effect was conveyed to Palanisamy during his meeting with the Governor at Raj Bhavan earlier today along with party presidium chairman K A Sengottaiyan and senior ministers Dindigul C Sreenivasan and P Thangamani. AIADMK workers and supporters earlier distributed payassam (sweet dish) outside the Golden Bay Resort, after receiving information about Palanisamy being appointed as chief minister. The Governor heard competing pitches last night from within the ruling party of the state over who should be the chief minister after the conviction of AIADMK general secretary V.K. Sasikala in connection with a 19-year old disproportionate assets case. (ANI)