PM Modi, MPs pay floral tribute to 2001 Parliament terror attack bravehearts

| Updated: Dec 13, 2016 17:41 IST

New Delhi [India], Dec. 13 (ANI): Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with the Members of Parliament and leaders from different political parties on Tuesday paid homage to the bravehearts who sacrificed their lives while defending Parliament from a terror attack in 2001. Marking the 15th anniversary of the attack, the leaders paid floral tribute to the bravehearts at the plaque installed in Parliament. Vice-President Mohammad Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, former prime minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Rajya Sabha Deputy Speaker P. J. Kurien, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Finance Minister Arun Jaitley paid tribute. Congress president Sonia Gandhi and senior party leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Anand Sharma also attended the event. Two persons from the Parliament Security Service of the Rajya Sabha, five Delhi Police Personnel and a woman constable of the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) were among the 14 people who laid down their lives while preventing terrorists from entering Parliament House Building. A gardener of CPWD also lost his life in the attack. At least 25 others were injured. (ANI)