PM Modi thanks Brazil for understanding India's aspiration for NSG membership

| Updated: Oct 17, 2016 19:38 IST

Salcete (Goa) [India], Oct. 17 (ANI): Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday expressed gratitude to Brazil President Michel Temer for understanding India's aspiration for membership to the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG). "We thank Brazil for understanding India's aspiration for membership of the Nuclear Suppliers' Group," Prime Minister Modi said while delivering the joint statement with the Brazilian President. "We deeply appreciate Brazil's support for India's actions in combating terrorism," he added. It should be noted that at the Seoul NSG meet in June, the Brazilian delegation did not oppose India's entry into the club, but it did call for common criteria for countries that have not signed the Non-Proliferation Treaty. Prime Minister Modi further said the bilateral relations between India and Brazil have grown for the better. "We have increased interaction at all levels. Brazil is among our most important economic partners in Latin America. I welcome Brazilian companies to come and invest in India and forge a long commercial partnership. India can be a valuable partner in reviving Brazil's domestic economic agenda," said Prime Minister Modi. "We have made progress in opening new areas of cooperation during this visit in drug regulation, agricultural research and cyber security," he added. Divulging the details of the bilateral meet, the Prime Minister said both countries agreed that the world must come together to fight the menace of terrorism without distinction or discrimination. Since assuming office in August, Temer attended the G-20 Summit in China last month on his first major trip outside South America. Brazil's support will come in handy for India ahead of the NSG meet in Vienna in November. Meanwhile, China has maintained its stand that the 48-nation cartel, which controls the global nuclear commerce, should admit India only when it opens its doors to Pakistan and other countries, which did not sign the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty. (ANI)