Polling delayed in Mathura, Baghpat due to non-operational EVMs

| Updated: Feb 11, 2017 13:57 IST

Mathura/ Baghpat (Uttar Pradesh) [India], Feb. 11 (ANI): Polling was delayed in booth number 42 in Mathura's Govardhan as well as in booth number 119 and 120 in Baghpat on Saturday as Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were found non-operational. Voting has begun for the first phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly elections on Saturday morning. The election process will be held in 73 assembly constituencies spread across 15 districts of the state. The most populous state of the country will today vote for 839 candidates at 26,823 polling stations. Elaborate security arrangements have been made for smooth polling, especially in sensitive areas of Shamli, Aligarh, Muzaffarnagar, Mathura, Bulandshahr and Agra. The electoral battle in the state has grabbed all eyeballs, be it the electoral merger between the Congress and the Samajwadi Party or the infighting within the first family of this politically crucial state. Voting in Uttar Pradesh will be done in seven phases - February 11, 15, 19, 23, 27, March 4 and 8. The counting of votes will take place on March 11. (ANI)