Power tussle in TN continues as two more MPs join Panneerselvam

| Updated: Feb 12, 2017 18:09 IST

Chennai (Tamil Nadu) [India], Feb. 12 (ANI): In a dramatic development, two more All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) MPs extended their support to Tamil Nadu's acting Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam. AIADMK MPs B.Senguttuvan and J.Jeyasingh on Sunday met Panneerselvam at his residence and extended their support to him. Earlier in the day, former AIADMK MP Ramarajan met Panneerselvam and extended his support to him. "O. Panneerselvam is our leader now, he is following path of M G Ramachandran," said Ramarajan. Meanwhile, the supporters of AIADMK general secretary Sasikala Natarajan raised slogans against Panneerselvam outside Poes Garden. Sasikala yesterday clearly stated that the delay in her swearing-in ceremony is nothing but an attempt to "create division in the party". "All party MLAs are fine and happy. We were waiting patiently till this moment for a reply from the Governor. Needed measures will be taken. From tomorrow onwards, we would begin a new kind of protest. Delaying tactics is an attempt to create divisions in party," she told reporters after meeting with the MLAs backing her. Sasikala's comments came after Panneerselvam alleged that he was told to quit the Chief Minister's post to protect party's discipline and failure to follow would be a violation of party discipline. Calling Sasikala as the "temporary general secretary", Panneerselvam said, "The Council can only appoint a temporary general secretary. Proper elections have to be held to elect a general secretary according to the party bye-laws. People are on my side." The acting Chief Minister also said that he has the support of the AIADMK leaders and would prove his majority in the assembly. (ANI)