President to award 56 medals to BSF for their supreme sacrifice, service

| Updated: Jan 26, 2017 07:40 IST

New Delhi [India], Jan. 26 (ANI): President Pranab Mukherjee on Thursday will award 56 medals, including five gallantry medals, to the Border Security Force (BSF) personnel in recognition of their supreme sacrifice, distinguished and meritorious service on the 68th Republic Day. Among those, the President would also award five President's Police Medal for Distinguished Services (PPMDS) and 46 Police Medals for Meritorious Services (PMMS) to the BSF personnel on the occasion. Five persons, including one posthumous have been selected for the Police Medal for Gallantry award. Those include late Head Constable Ramesh Chand, Assistant Sub Inspector Rajender Kumar, Head Constable Mahavir Singh, Head Constable Sajjan Singh and Constable Abhijeet Kumar Singh. Whereas, Inspector General Pankaj Goomer, Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Ram Awtar, DIG Sabu A Joseph, DIG K. N. Suyal, and Commandant Dharampal Tokas have been selected for President's Police Medal for their distinguished services. (ANI)