SAD-BJP stand no chance, 'Punjabiat' will win: Navjot Sidhu

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New Delhi [India], Jan. 19 (ANI): Asserting that there is no chance of the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (SAD-BJP) alliance to win the upcoming elections in the state, Congress' newly-inducted leader Navjot Singh Sidhu on Thursday said that this time only Punjab and the 'Punjabiat' will succeed in the state. "I don't think they (SAD-BJP) have any chance to win in Punjab. Punjab has only two options and both the parties have kept their agendas in front of the people. Now it is upto the people of Punjab to decide. In a democratic country people elects a king and remove them too. So, we should just leave this decision up to them," said Sidhu. Sidhu however declined to comment on his position in the Congress party and said that right now it's time to think about Punjab and its welfare rather than focusing on personal agendas. "There should be no discrimination on the caste, colour and creed. What is the need for bifurcation in the society? In this upcoming election Punjab and the 'Punjabiat' will win," he said. Earlier in the day, Punjab Congress chief Captain Amarinder Singh said the grand old party is aiming for two-third majority in the upcoming assembly polls, adding the incumbent SAD-BJP alliance will manage to win only 10 to 20 seats. Addressing the media along with Sidhu, Captain Amarinder said the people of Punjab are fed up with the SAD and want to dethrone the government. "Akali-BJP will manage to win just 10-20 seats. We are eyeing for two-third majority so that we have the power to make the much needed constitutional changes to bring Punjab back on its feet," he said. The Congress leader also used the occasion to train guns at Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) supremo Arvind Kejriwal while alleging that the latter is a confused man. "He is aware of the fact that does not enjoy the same position which he held at some point of time. He will not get any votes," he added. Punjab will vote on February 4 and the counting will take place on March 11.(ANI)