SC orders six ex-UP CMs to vacate govt. bungalows

| Updated: Aug 01, 2016 17:19 IST

New Delhi, Aug. 1 (ANI): The Supreme Court on Monday ordered as many as six former Uttar Pradesh chief ministers, including Mulayam Singh Yadav and Mayawati, to vacate their government bungalows within two months. The other ex-chief ministers, who have been issued orders in this regard, are Narendra Tiwari, Ram Naresh Yadav, Kalyan Singh and Rajnath Singh. The apex court held that the former chief ministers were not entitled to government accommodations. The petition was filed by Lucknow-based NGO 'Lok Prahari'. Lok Prahari's general secretary Satya Narain Shukla, a retired civil servant with a background in law, argued the case on behalf of the NGO. The petition prayed against the allotment of government bungalows to the former chief ministers and other non-eligible organisations. The respondents in the case included both Uttar Pradesh and the Union Territories of India besides others. Besides the six former chief ministers, some organisations and trusts, whom the petitioner had alleged as undeserving of government accommodations, were also arraigned as respondents. The Centre was asked to assist the apex court regarding the rules framed by it with regard to allotment of accommodation. "The Supreme Court ordered to vacate government accommodations within two months. It will reinforce people's trust on the judiciary. It is a very important decision for the people of Uttar Pradesh as well as for the people of other states," petitioner S.N. Shukla told ANI. He expressed hope that Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, which have been following the same custom, won't continue it after the apex court's order. (ANI)