Shivpal Yadav [File Photo/ANI]
Shivpal Yadav [File Photo/ANI]

Shivpal Yadav's party to contest in states outside UP too

ANI | Updated: Mar 24, 2019 17:12 IST

Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) [India], Mar 24 (ANI): Rebel Samajwadi Party leader Shivpal Yadav, who recently floated a new political outfit 'Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party’ on Sunday released its second list of 19 candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls.
Notably, the new party is also trying its luck outside Uttar Pradesh by fielding 17 candidates from other states. In Karnataka, Ravi Kumar will contest from South Bengaluru while S Mityanayak will fight for the Chitradurga Lok Sabha constituency.
In Tamil Nadu, Loknathan will contest from Ramnathpuram while M Mahajan from Tuhkakuppi seat.
In Haryana, the party has chosen Seema Yadav for Bhiwani–Mahendragarh Lok Sabha constituency while in Madhya Pradesh, Bharat Singh Mahdela and Radha Markam will contest from Damoh and Mandla Lok Sabha seats respectively.
Notably, in Uttrakhand which has five Lok Sabha seats, Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party has fielded only one candidate,  Furhan Ali for Haridwar seat.
In the national capital, Gulzar Ahmad will be contesting from Chandani Chowk and Ram Baksh Yadav from South Delhi respectively.
Surender Singh who hails from Jammu and Kashmir will fight on Anantnag seat while Amrit Tirki will be contesting from Raigarh in Chhattisgarh.
In Odisha, the party has named two candidates- Radha Kanta Gahir for Kalahandi and Subhash Chandra Yadav for Balasore constituencies.
In Bihar, which is believed to play a crucial role in the coming elections, the party has so far named only three candidates out of 40 seats. Kailash Prasad Singh will fight from Banka, Surendra Rajvanshi for Nawada and Bablu Yadav for Gaya.
The party has selected Chaudhary Mohammad Mohkam for Baghpat constituency and Jitender Singh for Gautam Budh Nagar in Uttar Pradesh.
The Lok Sabha elections are scheduled to be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23. (ANI)