Three MPs leave for Pak to attend Asian Parliamentary Assembly

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New Delhi/Islamabad, Mar. 13 (ANI): Parliamentarians Shashi Tharoor, Meenakshi Lekhi and Swapan Dasgupta on Monday began their visit to Pakistan to attend the Asian Parliamentary Assembly. The event, scheduled to last till March 17, would be formally inaugurated by Chairman Senate Mian Raza Rabbani and Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq on Tuesday, reports the Express Tribune. More than 70 delegates from 23 countries, including members of parliament and speakers, are expected to participate in this meeting being hosted by the Senate. Pakistan is likely to present a number of resolutions, including one related to the creation of the Asian Parliament. The Asian Parliamentary Assembly dates back to September 1999 when a group of Asian Parliamentarians decided to join hands for promoting peace and human rights in Dhaka, Bangladesh, by setting up the Association of Asian Parliaments for Peace (AAPP), which was later converted to APA in 2004. (ANI)