TMC workers launch three-day protest against note ban in Kolkata, Delhi

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New Delhi/Kolkata, [India], Jan. 9 (ANI): The Trinamool Congress (TMC) carried out protests on Monday against Prime Minister Narendra Modi's demonetisation scheme in Kolkata and New Delhi. Condemning the Prime Minister's decision, Power Minister of West Bengal, Sovandeb Chattopadhyay said the protest is taking place under the leadership of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. "We are not against demonetisation but we are agitated after the people's reactions. One should have thought before taking such decision. Narendra Modi has taken the decision without giving any information in advance. The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is doing this on the instructions of Narendra Modi. This is like harassing the people of India," Chattopadhyay said. He said that the protest will continue for three days. Meanwhile, in Delhi, the TMC leaders are demonstrating the protest against the same issue. President of West Bengal Mahila Congress, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar said that Mamta Banerjee and TMC Congress have been protesting against this kind of rash decision which has caused immense problems for the common man. "We are trying to demand from the Narendra Modi government to do something positive for the society and this is a request also. The difficulty faced by the poor people, farmers, and the small scale labourers/business sectors is nationwide. Mamata Banerjee shows concern for the people's difficulties," Dastidar added. Expressing his agitation regarding the issue, TMC leader Saugata Roy said that this is a protest against demonetisation and political vendetta. "Our movement started on November 8 when our leader Mamata Banerjee gave a statement against Modi's demonetisation. Since then the movement has spread all over the country. In Delhi last week we demonstrated in front of the Prime Minister's house and office. TMC members and workers are demonstrating all over in Kolkata in front of the RBI, in all blocks of West Bengal, in Odisha, in Punjab, Chhattisgarh, Manipur, Assam and also in Delhi," Roy said.(ANI)