TN: CPI, VCK not to contest R.K. Nagar by-polls

| Updated: Mar 19, 2017 21:45 IST

Chennai (Tamil Nadu) [India], Mar. 19 (ANI): Communist Party of India (CPI) and Tamil Nadu's Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) on Sunday decided to not contest or support any party's candidate for R.K. Nagar by-polls. R.K. Nagar constituency will now witness a four-frontal contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagham (DMK), the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and Jayalalithaa's niece Deepa Jayakumar's MGR Amma Deepa Peravai. The BJP has fielded music director and lyricist Gangai Amaran as its candidate, the O. Pannerselvam camp of the AIADMK party has fielded veteran leader E. Madhusudanan as their candidate, while Sasikala camp of the AIADMK has fielded Sasikala's nephew T.T.V Dhinakaran as their candidate. The DMK has announced Marudhu Ganesh as its candidate. The by-polls will be held on April 12 and the results will be declared on April 15. (ANI)