Two MLAs leave BJP, NCP, join Congress

| Updated: Dec 22, 2016 14:09 IST

Imphal (Manipur) [India], Dec.22 (ANI): Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA and party national secretary Khumukcham Joykishan and Nationalist Congress Party MLA and national secretary Laisom Ibomcha Singh have resigned from their respective parties and joined the Congress party. Joykishan Singh was one of the two sitting BJP MLAs in the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly from Thangmeiband Assembly constituency. With his resignation, the BJP now has only one sitting MLA, Thongam Bishwajit of Thongju Assembly constituency. Laisom Ibomcha Singh was elected from the Keishamthong Assembly Constituency. The two MLAs said the Centre's inability to resolve the economic blockade and political crisis in Manipur was the main reason behind their resignation. (ANI)