U'khand polls: 53 percent voter turnout recorded till 3p.m.

| Updated: Feb 15, 2017 22:06 IST

Dehradun (Uttarakhand) [India], Feb. 15 (ANI): Nearly 53 percent voter turnout was recorded till 3 p.m in Uttarakhand Assembly elections. Chief Minister Harish Rawat cast his vote at booth no. 45 in Dharampur. Chief Electoral Officer Radha Raturi cast her vote at Government Girls Inter College in Kishanpur. Bharatiya Janata Party's Uttarakhand president Ajay Bhatt cast his vote at polling booth no.130 in Ranikhet. While Congress's Indira Hrideyash cast her vote at booth no.17 in Haldwani. She is contesting against Bahujan Samaj Party's (BSP) S. Ahmad and BJP's (BJP) J.P.S. Rautela. Yog Guru Baba Ramdev also cast his vote today at polling booth no. 106 in Haridwar and urged people to cast their vote. "I urge everybody to come out of their houses and cast their vote. There should be some law like if they are not casting the vote, they should be prohibited from government facilities," he said. Polling took place for 69 of the 70 assembly seats as voting in Karnprayag constituency was rescheduled for March 9 following the death of a BSP candidate. A total of 628 candidates were in the fray for the single phase polling in the hill state. (ANI)