UP assembly polls: Campaigning for second phase ends today

| Updated: Feb 13, 2017 15:59 IST

Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) [India], Feb. 13 (ANI): The campaigning for the second phase of the politically crucial Uttar Pradesh assembly elections will come to an end today evening in 67 constituencies spread over 11 districts including Saharanpur, Moradabad, Bijnor, Steady, Rampur, Bareilly, Amroha, Pilibhit, Kheri, Shahjahanpur and Badaun. Polling in these constituencies will be held on February 15. Among the 720 candidates contesting on these 67 seats, maximum number of 22 candidates are from Burhanpur area of Bijnor district. The least number of candidates is four contesting from Dhanaura seat of Amroha district. The fate of senior leaders like Azam Khan from Rampur, former union minister Jitin Prasad from Tilhar will be decided in the phase of polling. Elaborate security arrangements have been made for the smooth functioning of the polling process. The voter turnout of the first phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly polls was recorded at a decent 63 percentage. Deputy Election Commissioner Vijay Dev informed that the first phase of elections took place in 15 districts at around 73 constituencies where 2,60,53,940 voters participated in the polls.(ANI)