UP Polls Phase II: Polling to be held in 67 Assembly constituencies today

| Updated: Feb 15, 2017 12:29 IST

New Delhi [India], Feb. 15 (ANI): In Uttar Pradesh today, polling for the second phase will be held in 67 constituencies spread over 11 districts. The districts going for polls in the second phase include Saharanpur, Bijnore, Bareilly, Pilibhit, Lakhimpur Kheri and Badayun. Barricades have been erected at the entry points of districts where round the clock intense search of vehicles is being carried out by security forces. Voting will begin at 7.00 AM and continue till five in the evening. There are 721 candidates including 82 women and one third gender in the fray in this phase. The fate of these candidates will be decided by 2 crore 28 lakhs voters. 14 thousand 771 polling centers and 23 thousand 693 polling stations have been erected in this phase. Meanwhile, campaigning has intensified in areas going to polls in remaining 5 phases of 7-phase polls in the state. Tuesday was the last date for filing of nominations for the sixth phase, in which 49 constituencies will go to polls on the 4th of next month. Uttar Pradesh has a 403-member Assembly. (ANI)