Uttarakhand BJP expels 17 members ahead of assembly polls

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Dehradun (Uttarakhand) [India], Feb. 1 (ANI): Ahead of the assembly polls in Uttarakhand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday expelled 17 members from the party for six years for contesting elections against their own party candidates. BJP State President Ajay Bhatt on Wednesday debarred as many as 17 members from the saffron party including Gangotri Surat Ram Nautiyal, Kedarnath Asha Ram Nautiyal, Ghansali Ghanilal Shah, Premlal Trikutiya, Narendranagar Om Gopal Rawat, Pratapnagar Rajeshwar Prasad Painyuli, Sahaspur Laxmi Agarwal, Rishikesh Sandeep Gupta, Khanpur Ravindra Paniyala, Laksar Kushalpal Saini, Chaubattakhaal Kavindra Ishthwal, Didihaat Kishan Singh Bhandari, Ranikhet Pramod Nainwal, Nainital Hem Arya, Kaaladungi Harendra Singh Darmyal, Jaspur Kumari Seema Chauhan and Kashipur Rajeev Agarwal. The assembly polls in the state have been touted as a battle of friends-turned-foes and strained political relationships. The BJP's list of candidates, which it released a few days back, included 12 former Congress leaders who recently joined the BJP. The elections in the state are going to be held in single phase on February 15 and the results will be announced on March 11. (ANI)