We are confident that public will repose their faith in us: BJP on assembly polls

| Updated: Feb 04, 2017 10:51 IST

Bengaluru, (Karnataka), [India], Feb. 4 (ANI): Pulling-off confidence for the assembly polls to be held today in Punjab and Goa, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) said that they are assured that the public will repose their faith in the party once again. "Assembly polls in Punjab and Goa will take place in one phase. Both the states are ruled by the BJP while Akali Dal is accompanying in Punjab. We are confident that the voters are going to repose their faith once again in the BJP as our party has brought back these two states to normalcy," BJP leader S. Prakash told ANI. He added that Punjab is a very sensitive state and it was infected with the terrorism a decade ago. The Akali Dal and BJP together brought back Punjab into normalcy. Any change would alter the situation, he said. "Very recently the incident of bomb blast was reported in Punjab where 3 people lost their lives. It is feared that Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which is encouraging all these divisive and radical elements in the elections, would bring back the old days again to Punjab which will be very detrimental to the interest of the state," Prakash said. He further said that the voters are wise enough to remember the developmental activities that have taken place in the last decade and will bring Akali Dal and BJP into power. "While in Goa, we have no confusion there. We are clear that the party will form the government there very comfortably," he added. "Our star campaigners, Prime Minister, Manohar Parrikar and Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar have put in all the efforts. The workers have worked dedicatedly and we are confident that we will roam back home again in Goa," Prakash stated. The people of Punjab and Goa are set to cast their votes today to elect their new legislative assemblies. Goans would cast their votes to elect the 40-member Legislative Assembly, from a total of 251 candidates, whereas electorates in Punjab would vote for 117 assembly seats. The counting of votes will take place on March 11. (ANI)