Australia announce six changes for Gabba Test

ANI | Updated: Nov 17, 2017 11:50 IST

Brisbane [Australia], Nov 17 (ANI): Australia have announced their squad for the first Test of the Ashes Series.

Selectors have gone for wicketkeeper Tim Paine, batsmen Cameron Bancroft and Shaun Marsh. They replace Matthew Wade, Matt Renshaw and Glenn Maxwell, reports ESPNcricinfo.

Peter Nevill has also been omitted from the squad while Chadd Sayers has been called up in Steve Smith's 13-man squad.

Right-handed batsman Cameron Bancroft has been chosen to open with David Warner after seeing his form for Western Australia against New South Wales at Hurstville.

Six changes have been made in the Australia team with only skipper Steve Smith, vice-captain David Warner, Peter Handscomb, Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon retained.

Captain Smith said guys who were in form were being given space in the team.

He said Renshaw was overlooked by the selectors because he hasn't been able to get runs on the board.

"He [Renshaw] unfortunately hasn't been able to get the runs on the board that the selectors wanted, and the Ashes isn't a place where you need to be trying to find your form. I think it's great what the selectors have done, they've gone with the guys that are in-form and if the top six are getting big runs for us, I'm confident our bowlers can do the job," the Australian skipper said.

On Tim Paine, Smith said, "His inclusion may have come as a surprise to a lot of people but I'm excited what he brings to the team. I'm sure he'll do a terrific job for us."

The 13-men squad also includes Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood as bowlers.

The Ashes series begins from November 23 in Brisbane. (ANI)