Representative Image
Representative Image

Billy Murdoch, Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Dean Jones inducted to Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

ANI | Updated: Feb 11, 2019 11:08 IST

Melbourne [Australia], Feb 11 (ANI): Batting greats Billy Murdoch and Dean Jones and champion fast bowler Cathryn Fitzpatrick will be inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame (ACHoF) at the Australian Cricket Awards in Melbourne, tonight.
ACHoF chairman Peter King today announced that the trio was the selection committee’s choices for the 2019 induction due to their remarkable contributions to Australian cricket.

Commenting on the selection process for this year, Peter King said, “After healthy deliberation, the selection committee of the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame have selected another group of outstanding inductees to join this elite collection of Australian cricket legends.”
“These three inductees are very worthy of this honour and we are delighted in inducting them alongside their peers and contemporaries at the Australian Cricket Awards on February 11,” he added.
The second captain of the Australian Test team, Billy Murdoch was one of the greatest wicketkeeper-bats of his time, with his excellent technique and gritty determination making him extremely difficult to dismiss. Regarded as an off-side player, Murdoch was well known for his ability to cut and drive through the field.
Appointed as the Australian captain in 1880, a position he kept for 16 Tests between 1880 and 1890, Murdoch will be best remembered for his performances in 1880, 1882 and 1884 where he led the team in hard-fought series in England. Personally, Murdoch would enjoy great success in all three of those series, with scores of 153* and 210 at the Oval in 1882 and 1884 respectively.
Representing New South Wales and Sussex, Murdoch also enjoyed an incredible First-Class career that included 16,953 runs, 19 centuries, 85 half-centuries and a top score of 321.
The second most prolific wicket-taker in women’s ODI history, Cathryn Fitzpatrick was a mainstay in the women’s national team for over 15 years, with her extreme pace critical to the success of the side. Enjoying the mantle of the world’s fastest bowler for most of her career, Fitzpatrick instilled fear into opposition batters around the world.
Ending up with a phenomenal one-day international record of 180 wickets at an average 16.73, Fitzpatrick claimed several awards over the course of her career, including Women’s International Cricketer of the Year at the Allan Border Medal in 2004. She is also one of just three Australian female cricketers to claim 100 ODI wickets and helped Australia to World Cup victory in 1997 and 2005.

Following her playing career, Fitzpatrick wasted no time building a successful coaching career, overseeing the Australian Women’s Cricket Team in T20 World Cup victories in 2012 and 2014 along with the ODI World Cup in 2013.
One of the most popular Australian batsmen of all time, Dean Jones’ induction into the Hall of Fame is courtesy of his outstanding career at both international and First-Class level. Coming into the Australian side in 1984 as a 22-year-old, Jones enjoyed a plentiful ten-year international career during which he revolutionised the art of One-Day batting and inspired a generation of young cricketers.
The highlight of his career came in the famous drawn Test against India in Madras in 1986, where he produced one of the most remarkable Test innings ever, battling severe dehydration and oppressive heat to amass a score of 210 runs.
ones was also a critical member of Australia’s 1987 World Cup winning side and was named one of the Wisden Cricketers of the Year in 1990. In addition to his impressive international record, Jones is also the second highest Sheffield Shield run scorer for Victoria, scoring 9622 runs for his state at an average of 54.05, including a high score of 324*. (ANI)