Centurion T20I: Indian eves elect to field first against Proteas

ANI | Updated: Feb 21, 2018 16:32 IST

Centurion [South Africa], Feb 21 (ANI): The Indian women cricket team won the toss and elected to field first in the crucial fourth T20I of the five-match series against South Africa at the SuperSport Park in Centurion here on Wednesday.

For India, medium-pacer Rumeli Dhar has returned to the Indian squad after a long gap of six years.

Earlier, India took an early lead in the five-match T20I series when they won the first two matches by seven and nine wickets, respectively.

However, the Women in Blue failed to capitalize on it and allowed South Africa to keep the series alive by slumping to a five-wicket defeat against the hosts in the third T20I in Johannesburg.

Heading into the fourth match, the visitors will look to wrap up the T20I series by taking an unassailable 3-1 lead, something which will make the Hamanpreet Kaur-led side the first to have won two series on a single tour of South Africa.

Earlier, India had clinched the three-match ODI series 2-1 against South Africa.

South Africa women, on the other hand, would be a much more confident unit this time around and would once again aim to rely on seamer Shabnim Ismail, who took her first T20I five-wicket haul in the previous match.

The two squads are as follows:

India Playing XI: Harmanpreet (c), Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Krishnamurthy, Gayakwad, Deepti Sharma, Rodrigues, Dhar, Vastrakar, Bhatia (W), Poonam Yadav.

South Africa Playing XI: Lizelle Lee, Mignon du Preez, Dane van Niekark (c), Chloe Tryon, Chloe Kapp, Sune Luus, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Masabata Klaas, Ismail, Nadine de Klerk, Moseline Daniels. (ANI)