Mark Deyal in action (Photo/ CPL Twitter)
Mark Deyal in action (Photo/ CPL Twitter)

CPL: Saint Lucia Kings enter final after defeating Trinbago Knight Riders in semis

ANI | Updated: Sep 15, 2021 07:44 IST

Basseterre [Saint Kitts], September 15 (ANI): A high-scoring thriller saw Saint Lucia Kings reach the final of the 2021 Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and eliminate defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders.
The Saint Lucia Kings won the toss and chose to bat. Mark Deyal got the side off to a flying start and they maintained a high intensity throughout the innings, as Tim David and David Wiese combined to cause carnage in the latter overs, taking the side to a mammoth 205/4 after their 20 overs.
Trinbago Knight Riders got off to a fast start in response but slowly unravelled amidst a growing run rate, as David Wiese took his second five-wicket haul of this year's CPL to end their title defence as they finished on 184 all out.
Saint Lucia Kings had got off to a troublesome start as Rahkeem Cornwall was caught out in the first over. Yet Deyal would come in and play with an attacking intent that saw him launch eleven boundaries and reach his highest ever T20 score, 78 off just 44 balls.

Roston Chase would aid the side with a valuable knock before David and Wiese came in and formed a destructive partnership: 75 runs coming off the last 34 balls. Despite the high score, Sunil Narine was excellent with the ball for the Trinbago Knight Riders, conceding a paltry twelve runs from his four overs.
Trinbago Knight Riders responded with a strong start, scoring 66 runs in the Powerplay for just the loss of one wicket, as Narine and Colin Munro kept the required run rate within reach. However, Wiese starred with the ball as he took both of their wickets, adding pressure to the chase.
Despite quick-fire cameos from Darren Bravo and captain Kieron Pollard, it was not enough as the champions faltered under disciplined bowling from Alzarri Joseph and Wahab Riaz. Wiese then capped off a superb game by taking late wickets to reach his five-wicket haul.
Saint Lucia Kings reached their second successive CPL final with the win and the result means that there will be a new champion this year.
Brief Scores: Saint Lucia Kings 205/4 (Deyal 78, David 38; Narine 1/12); Trinbago Knight Riders 184 all out (Narine 30, Ramdin 29, Wiese 5/39). (ANI)