Cuttack T20I: Lanka win toss, ask India to bat first

ANI | Updated: Dec 20, 2017 18:57 IST

Cuttack [India], Dec 20 (ANI): Sri Lanka have won the toss and have asked India to bat first in the opening T20I of the three-match series here at the Barabati Stadium.

Stand-in-skipper Rohit Sharma announced two changes in the last ODI squad. As Shikhar Dhawan has been rested, KL Rahul will return for the T20Is in his natural role at the top of the order, alongside Rohit.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has also been rested and will be replaced by Jaydev Unadkat to partner Jasprit Bumrah in the seam attack.

For Sri Lanka, skipper Thisara Perera announced four changes. Dushmantha Chameera, Dasun Shanaka, and Kusal Perera are named in the playing XI.

Left-arm seamer Vishwa Fernando will be making his T20I debut for Sri Lanka.

India have a 6-4 win-loss record in T20I this year and given their outstanding record in Tests and ODIs, the hosts look the most vulnerable in the shortest format.

The hosts currently lead Sri Lanka 7-4 on head to head count in T20Is and are yet to lose against them in the last four outings.

Having clinched the Test and ODI series against the Lankan Lions earlier, the hosts will be aiming to extend their dominance in the shortest format as well and bag another series triumph.

Lanka, on the other hand, will look to reassess their form and bounce back in order to end their long tour to India on high.

The playing XI are as follows:

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni(w), Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella(w), Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Thisara Perera(c), Dasun Shanaka, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Vishwa Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep.(ANI)