Duminy to lead Proteas T20 squad against India

ANI | Updated: Feb 13, 2018 18:48 IST

Johannesburg [South Africa], Feb 13 (ANI): JP Duminy will lead the 14-man South Africa squad in the absence of injured Faf du Plessis in the three-match T20I series against India, beginning Johannesburg on February 18.

Du Plessis injured his right index finger during the first ODI at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead on Thursday, with further assessment and investigation revealing a fracture which will require three-six weeks to heal.

He was subsequently forced to miss the remainder of the ODI series and was ruled out the upcoming T20I series against India,ESPNcricinfo reported.

Meanwhile, Warriors batsman Christiaan Jonker and the Multiply Titans duo of fast bowler Junior Dala and wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen are the three new players in the T20I squad.

South Africa, however, have opted to rest a number of players including Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla and number of the frontline Test-match pacers, keeping in mind the upcoming Test series against Australia.

"With the Sunfoil Test Series against Australia starting only 5 days after the completion of the T20 Series it is necessary for us to rest some of the players who have featured in virtually all our international matches so far this summer," Zondi said.

Leg-spinner Imran Tahir has been left out, with Zondi revealing that the national selectors wanted to give chance to Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso.

"We have also decided to give Imran Tahir a break. He remains our first-choice spin bowler in both white ball formats.But we need to give more game time to Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso. The next ICC World Twenty20 is not all that far away in 2020 so it is important that we develop and examine our resources for that tournament," he added.

The South Africa T20I squad is as follows:

JP Duminy (capt), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.(ANI)