Ekta Bisht features in ICC Women's ODI, T20I teams of the Year

ANI | Updated: Dec 21, 2017 14:32 IST

Dubai [UAE], Dec 21 (ANI): Left-arm spinner Ekta Bisht was the only Indian woman cricketer to find a place in both the International Cricket Council's One Day and Twenty20 teams of the year announced on Thursday.

The 31-year-old cricketer from Uttarakhand has ranked 14th in ODIs and 12th in T20Is and took 34 wickets in 19 matches and 11 wickets in seven T20Is in the period under consideration.

Among the three Indians, the other two featured in the team were veteran batter Mithali Raj, who joined Bisht in the T20 team, and World Cup star Harmanpreet Kaur in the ODI side.

Meanwhile, England's Heather Knight was named as captain of the ODI for inspiring her side to a stunning ICC Women's World Cup victory while Stafanie Taylor of the Windies was appointed the captain of the 20-over side.

The ICC panel took into consideration player performances from 21 September 2016 to date for naming the teams.

The ODI side comprises players from five countries, including two Australians (Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry), four England players (Tammy Beaumont, Heather Knight, Sarah Taylor and Alex Hartley), two Indians (Mithali Raj and Ekta Bisht), one New Zealander (Amy Satterthwaite) and two South Africans (Dane van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp).

The side includes the world's top four ranked batters in Raj, Perry, Lanning and Satterthwaite, while amongst the bowlers, Kapp is ranked number one, van Niekerk (ninth), Perry (13th), Bisht (14th) and Hartley (18th).

The T20I side is made up of three Australians (Beth Mooney, Megan Schutt, Amanda-Jade Wellington), one from England (Danni Wyatt), two from India (Harmanpreet Kaur and Ekta Bisht), two from New Zealand (Sophie Devine and Lea Tahuhu) and three from the Windies (Stafanie Taylor, Deandra Dottin and Hayley Matthews).