ICC logo
ICC logo

ICC announces team of Women World T20

ANI | Updated: Nov 25, 2018 12:23 IST

Dubai [UAE], Nov 25 (ANI): The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday announced the squad of the Women's World T20, based on the performances during the 16-day tournament held across Providence, Gros Islet and North Sound in West Indies.
Three players each from Australia and India, two from England and one each from Pakistan, New Zealand, and West Indies have been named as the playing eleven, which was selected by an esteemed selection panel comprising of former players and commentators Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra and Ebony Rainford-Brent, journalist Melinda Farrell and ICC's General Cricket Manager Geoff Allardice.
India skipper Harmanpreet Kaur, one of the two skippers to make the squad along with Pakistan skipper Javeria Khan, has been named to lead the team, while player of the tournament Alyssa Healy of Australia, India's opener Smriti Mandhana and Amy Jones of England have been nominated to bat.
All-rounders Deandra Dottin of West Indies and Allyse Perry of Australia, and England fast bowler Anya Shrubsole are the seam bowlers in the squad with off-spinner Leigh Kasperek of New Zealand, leg-spinner Poonam Yadav of India and left-arm spinner Kirstie Gordon of England the slow bowlers.
Meanwhile, Bangladesh's new-ball bowler Jahanara Alam has been named as the 12th player.
Following is the ICC Women's World T20 2018 team of the tournament in their batting order:
Alyssa Healy (Australia) - 225 runs
Smriti Mandhana (India) - 178 runs
Amy Jones (England, wicketkeeper) - 107 runs, 5 dismissals
Harmanpreet Kaur (India, Skipper) - 183 runs
Deandra Dottin (West Indies) - 121 runs, 10 wickets
Javeria Khan (Pakistan) - 136 runs
Ellyse Perry (Australia) - 60 runs, 9 wickets
Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand) - 8 wickets
Anya Shrubsole (England) - 7 wickets
Kirstie Gordon (England) - 8 wickets
Poonam Yadav (India) - 8 wickets
12th player: Jahanara Alam (Bangladesh) - 6 wickets
The first standalone ICC Women's World T20, which started on November 9, concluded earlier today with Australia clinching their fourth title after defeating England by 8 wickets. (ANI)