ICC U-19 WC: Aussies win toss, decide to bat

ANI | Updated: Feb 03, 2018 06:21 IST

Tauranga [New Zealand], Feb. 3 (ANI): Australia won the toss and decided to bat in the final match against India in the Under-19 cricket World Cup in Mount Maunganui on Saturday.

Both teams will be aiming to win the Under-19 Cricket World Cup for the fourth time with India having a slight edge not having lost a single game in the whole tournament this time.

The performances of the Indian team so far has been phenomenal.

India had beaten Australia by 100 runs in their tournament opener besides also winning the previous two matches against them including at the 2012 final, which was the last of India's three titles.

Australia's win against India in the tournament came in 1988 and 1998.

India are the only unbeaten side in the tournament with the win over Australia being their lowest margin of victory.

They are considered as a balanced side with the Shubman Gill-led batting line-up and a potent fast bowling attack giving captain Prithvi Shaw several options as they look to add a fourth title to the ones India won in 2000, 2008 and 2012.

Overall, it promises to be a cracking contest.

The two squads are as follows:

Australia: Jason Sangha (captain), Xavier Bartlett, Max Bryant, Jack Edwards, Zak Evans, Jarrod Freeman, Ryan Hadley, Baxter Holt, Nathan McSweeney, Jonathan Merlo, Lloyd Pope, Patrick Rowe, Will Sutherland, Param Uppal, Austin Waugh.

India: Prithvi Shaw (captain), Harvik Desai, Shubman Gill, Aryan Juyal, Manjot Kalra, Shivam Mavi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Riyan Parag, Ishan Porel, Himanshu Rana, Anukul Roy, Abhishek Sharma, Arshdeep Singh, Shiva Singh, Pankaj Yadav.(ANI)