Mithali to lead Indian eves in South Africa tour

ANI | Updated: Jan 10, 2018 18:26 IST

Mumbai [India], Jan 10 (ANI): Mithali Raj will lead the 17-member Indian women's squad while Harmanpreet Kaur will serve as her deputy in the three-match ODI series against South Africa in February.

Taniya Bhatia, Pooja Vastrakar and Jemimah Rodriguez have also been included in the squad, which is otherwise a similar to the one that made it to the finals of the Women's World Cup in England last year.

"The Indian Women's Cricket Team will play three ODIs against South Africa Women as part of the ICC Women's Championship (2017-2020) in February," the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said.

While the first two ODIs will be played in Kimberley on February 5 and 7 respectively, the third and the final ODI will take place in Potchefstroom on Feruary 10.

Ahead of the series, India will also play a warm-up match against South Africa on February 2 in Bloemfontein.

The three ODIs will be followed by a five-match T20I series and the squad for the same will be named later.

The Indian Women's ODI squad is as follows:

Mithali Raj (Captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Ekta Bisht, Smriti Mandhana, Poonam Yadav, Punam Raut, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jhulan Goswami, Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Veda Krishnamurthy, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper).(ANI)