Mumbai ODI: India win toss, elect to bat against Kiwis

ANI | Updated: Oct 22, 2017 13:29 IST

Mumbai [India], Oct 22 (ANI): India have won the toss and opted to bat first in the opening ODI of the three-match series against New Zealand at the Wankhede Stadium here on Sunday.

After winning the toss, Indian skipper Virat Kohli said, "Looks a good wicket to bat on, to come out and bowl again with this humidity will make it a tough day. Looks similar to the wicket at Kolkata, this has always been a good cricket wicket."

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, on the other hand, said that he too had opted to bat first had he won the toss.

As far as Playing XI is concerned, Dinesh Karthik has been called as a replacement for Manish Pandey at number four spot.

For New Zealand, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme are roped in for the middle order, while Tom Latham will take the gloves and also bat in the middle order.

Going into the match, India will be riding high on confidence following their recent 4-1 win over world champions Australia and will look to continue their winning momentum at home turf when they take on the Black Caps.

The Men in Blue, who have been performing exceedingly well at home, will be raring to give a fitting tribute to skipper Virat Kohli, who is all set to play his 200th ODI.

India, who are currently standing second in the ODI rankings, can regain the top ODI spot from South Africa if they win the series against New Zealand by 3-0.

India (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli(c), Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni(w), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal.

New Zealand (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Trent Boult.(ANI)