Mumbai T20I: India win toss, elect to bowl first

ANI | Updated: Dec 24, 2017 19:00 IST

Mumbai (Maharashtra) [India], Dec 24 (ANI): India won the toss and chose to field first in the third and final T20I against Sri Lanka, here at the Wankhede Stadium, on Sunday.

Tamil Nadu all-rounder Washington Sundar will be making his T20I debut for the Indian side, replacing man in form Yuzvendra Chahal.

Right-arm pacer Jasprit Bumrah has also been rested and is replaced by Mohammed Siraj.

After winning the toss, stand-in-skipper Rohit Sharma said he opted to bowl first just to take a drift from always batting first. However, Sri Lanka skipper Thisara Perera said he would have chosen to bat first, had he won the toss.

For Sri Lanka, Dasun Shanaka has replaced Angelo Mathews, who was ruled out of the final match due to a hamstring injury.

In another squad change, Danushka Gunathilaka has replaced Chaturanga de Silva.

Having pocketed the three-match T20I series already, India will be looking to whitewash Sri Lanka in the final match.

In the previous two matches, Sri Lanka were handed a heavy 93-run defeat in the series opener in Cuttack and equalled their longest losing streak (having lost seven-in-a-row) in T20Is with their 88-run loss in Indore.

India playing XI: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, MS Dhoni (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka playing XI: Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), S Samarawickrama, Asela Gunaratne, Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera (c), Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep (ANI)