Nidahas Trophy: Bangladesh win toss, put Lanka to bat first

ANI | Updated: Mar 10, 2018 19:23 IST

Colombo [Sri Lanka], March 10 (ANI): Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bowl first against Sri Lanka in the third match of the Twenty-20 tri-series, Nidahas Trophy at the R. Premadasa Stadium here on Saturday.

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have fielded the same teams who have played India in the series.

Sri Lanka have earlier secured a thumping victory over India in the in the opening clash while Bangladesh will come to play the hosts after suffering a six-wicket defeat from India in the second match of the series.

Bangladesh have recently lost the T20I home series 2-0 against Sri Lanka last month and moreover, they have not won an international match since January 23.

The tourists are playing the series without their regular skipper Shakib Al-Hasan, who has been ruled out due to injury. Mahmudullah Riyad has been leading the charge in his absence.

The 2018 Nidahas Trophy is a tri-nation series between Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka. Each team will play each other twice, with two teams progressing to the final.

Sri Lanka Playing XI: MD Gunathilaka, BKG Mendis, MDKJ Perera, LD Chandimal (c, wk), WU Tharanga, MD Shanaka, NLTC Perera, BMAJ Mendis, A Dananjaya, PVD Chameera, N Pradeep

Bangladesh Playing XI: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman. (ANI)