South African cricketer Reeza Hendricks
South African cricketer Reeza Hendricks

Reeza Hendricks, Theunis de Bruyn bag national contracts

ANI | Updated: Mar 01, 2019 17:39 IST

Johannesburg [South Africa], Mar 1 (ANI): South African cricketers Reeza Hendricks and Theunis de Bruyn were rewarded national contracts by Cricket South Africa (CSA) for the 2019-20 season.
Previously, the two players were deprived of full contracts but the same was upgraded “after reaching the necessary threshold during the course of the current season”.
The contracts provide coverage to the selected players for their upcoming bilateral tours to India in October and March, full tour home series against England, limited-overs home series against Australia, and the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup.
For women cricketers, the contract covers the upcoming 2020 Women’s World T20 Cup which will be played in Australia.
“We have contracted 16 men's players and 14 women's players which we feel is the appropriate number to maintain our national squads across the various formats,” Sport24 quoted CSA CEO Thabang Moroe, as saying.
“This enables us to contract both our Test players as well as those who are limited overs specialists,” he added.
There are many players who have lost the contract due to retirement or other reasons. They are AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, and Chris Morris.
Following are the contracted South African men’s cricketers:
Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn.
Following are the contracted South African women’s cricketers:
Trisha Chetty, Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp , Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Zintle Mali, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt. (ANI)