Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Rohit to the fore as Windies return with added firepower

ANI | Updated: Nov 03, 2018 20:17 IST

New Delhi [India], Nov 3 (ANI): What seemed to be a nerve-wracking ODI series ended up with India gaining mastery over visitors West Indies and winning series 3-1. But the solitary three-match T20I series beginning November 4 at Eden Gardens in Kolkata could prove to be a different ball-game altogether.
The Caribbean side comparatively have a better balance in their squad for the shortest format of the game. India have added new players in the squad and in the absence of skipper Virat Kohli, the onus to clinch the T20I series has now been shifted on the shoulders of stand-in captain Rohit Sharma.
Opener Shikhar Dhawan's performance would also be under scrutiny following his poor form in the recently-concluded ODI series.
Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who is going through a lean patch in his career, paved the way for Delhi swashbuckling batsman Rishabh Pant, while Dinesh Karthik has been included as a standby.
Pant has been given an opportunity to prove his worth as a regular wicketkeeper who can amass runs.
A Kohli-less side have also given a chance to KL Rahul and Manish Pandey who would be utilised to solve the middle-order muddle.
Assisting the team with the ball, Krunal Pandya has finally been called up by the national selectors to complement the wrist-spinning pair of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.
The trio of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Khaleel Ahmed have already provided a variety to the team's swing bowling.
West Indies, on the other hand, have added firepower with the return of skipper Carlos Brathwaite. The T20I skipper hogged the limelight when he smashed England's Ben Strokes for four consecutive sixes in the last over to win the 2016 World Cup T20. Denesh Ramdin is another boost to the batting line-up for the Carribean side.
While in-form Shimron Hetmyer will join forces with Kieron Pollard, Darren Bravo and Andre Russell will make the batting line-up more formidable
In the bowling department, Ashley Nurse has been left out owing to an injury. Oshane Thomas and Obed McCoy have to make-up for him if they want to restrict the home team.
The two squads for the opening T20I are as follows:
India: Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant (wk), Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal.
West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite (C), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Obed McCoy, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas (ANI)