Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson
Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson

Shane Watson appointed as President of ACA

ANI | Updated: Nov 12, 2019 07:55 IST

Melbourne [Australia], Nov 12 (ANI): Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson has been appointed as the President of Australian Cricketers Association (ACA).
He was appointed as the head of the association during the Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Sydney.
Watson is now a part of an extended ten-person board which includes three new appointments-- current Australian players Pat Cummins and Kristen Beams and former Australian cricketer, Lisa Sthalekar.
"Through a period of immense change, the players have been, and will continue to be, a strong voice in protecting what's made our game of cricket great, while embracing opportunities that change inevitably brings," Watson said in an official statement.
Watson also lauded Cricket Australia's recently introduced parental policy for women cricketers.
"This policy, amid a host of other changes, assures Australian women that cricket is a sport which can now support you and your family. And for girls coming through who love sport, like my daughter, it says that cricket is a sport where you will be able to have a career," Watson said.
After the fresh appointments, the Australian Cricketers Association's Board office-bearers are as follows:
Shane Watson- Initial President and Elected Director
Greg Dyer- Initial chair and Elected Director
Aaron Finch- Elected Director
Alyssa Healy- Elected Director
Pat Cummins- Elected Director
Kristen Beams- Elected Director
Moises Henriques- Elected Director
Lisa Sthalekar- Appointed Director
Neil Maxwell- Appointed Director
Janet Torney- Appointed Director
Earlier on Wednesday, Cricket Australia had announced the appointment of former player Melanie Jones as their Director.
Jones, who debuted for the international team in 1997, was recognised with one of Australia's highest honour, Medal of the Order of Australia, this year. Her cricket career spanned from 1995 to 2011. (ANI)