Indian women cricketer Harmanpreet Kaur
Indian women cricketer Harmanpreet Kaur

Smriti, Harmanpreet to lead teams in one-off Women's T20 match

ANI | Updated: May 17, 2018 13:19 IST

Mumbai [India], May 17 (ANI): Indian star cricketers Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the two teams in an Indian Premier League-(IPL) style women's T20 challenge match, which will be played at the Wankhede Stadium on May 22.
The one-of-its-kind match featuring 26 players including 10 international stars from Australia, England and New Zealand will be played ahead of the IPL 2018 Qualifier 1.
Australia's captain Meg Lanning has recovered from her injury and will be a part of Harmanpreet Kaur-led IPL Supernovas.
Meanwhile, attacking bat and India women's T20 vice-captain, Smriti Mandhana will lead IPL Trailblazers.
The match will kick start at 2.00 pm and will be telecast live in India and across the world.
With an eye on growing this wave, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is hosting this T20 Challenge to provide the women's game a platform alongside its most popular tournament.
The complete squads are as below:
IPL Trailblazers: Alyssa Healy (wk), Smriti Mandhana (c), Suzie Bates, Deepti Sharma, Beth Mooney, Jemimah Rodrigues, Danielle Hazell, Shikha Pandey, Lea Tahuhu, Jhulan Goswami, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Dayalan Hemalatha
IPL Supernovas: Danielle Wyatt, Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Megan Schutt, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wk).(ANI)