Scotland cricket team
Scotland cricket team

T20 World Cup: George Scott, Scott Steel included in Scotland's 40-member longlist

ANI | Updated: Jul 17, 2021 12:23 IST

Edinburgh [Scotland], July 17 (ANI): Scotland head coach Shane Burger has named a squad of 40 players who are in contention for selection for the ICC T20 World Cup which takes place in the UAE and Oman in October.
The list of 40 includes experienced players like Kyle Coetzer, Richard Berrington, Callum Macleod, Ally Evans, and Safyaan Sharif alongside youngsters coming up through the Scotland Performance Academy system, as well as a number of players currently playing county cricket in England.
According to Cricket Scotland, all 40 players will feature in a trial series in August before the team which travels to the World Cup is announced later that month.
"It's exciting to be able to announce 40 names in contention for selection. Every single individual on the list will have the opportunity to play in the trial series and has the chance to go to a World Cup," said Shane Burger in a statement.
"It's encouraging to see that the depth of Scottish cricket is really good at the moment and to have such a good blend of experience and youth in this line-up," he added.

Chris Sole returns to the squad after a spell playing in Australia, but he won't be playing alongside brother Tom who has decided to take a break from cricket.
Gloucestershire's George Scott and Scott Steel of Leicestershire are included following confirmation of their eligibility to play for Scotland.
Brad Currie and Brandon McMullen, both named in the squad of 40, are not yet eligible to play for Scotland, but their inclusion forms part of their qualification process.
Scotland will face Bangladesh, Papua New Guinea and Oman in Round One of the World Cup with the top two teams qualifying for the Super 12s where they face the top eight T20 sides in the world.
Scotland T20 World Cup longlist: Kyle Coetzer, George Munsey, Richie Berrington, Calum Macleod, Craig Wallace, Michael Leask, Matthew Cross, Mark Watt, Oli Hairs, Ally Evans, Safyaan Sharif, Josh Davey, Hamza Tahir, Chris Greaves, Scott Cameron, Gavin Main, Adrian Neill, Ruaidhri Smith, Michael Jones, Dylan Budge, Scott Steel, George Scott, Bradley Currie*, Brad Wheal, Chris Sole, Tom Mackintosh, Josh Wood, Jamie Crawley, Finlay Macreath, Rory Johnston, Christopher McBride, Brandon McMullen*, Rory Hanley, Ollie Davidson, Ben Davidson, Mohammad Ghaffar, Liam Naylor, Alex Hinkley, Tom Simpson, Jack Hogarth (ANI)